“Kill your darlings”

We’re almost up to thirty views on youtube for the teaser, so here’s an update to celebrate.

There’s a fantastic quote about how you must kill your darlings to be a successful author. It’s been attributed to various authors, from Stephen King to William Faulkner. I think it’s wonderful advice.

Erin and I are nearly done with the sequel to Wakefield. I had a list of ideas and little moments that I wanted to put in, and I realized that they were all darlings. I thought they were wonderful little moments that really shined, but there weren’t really any place for them. I considered where they might come in, but the manuscript was just fine without them.

If an idea makes you giggle and you absolutely adore it, but it’s just a beat that you can’t quite fit in the story, I suggest you just delete your note and move on. Instead of agonizing over how to install a random moment that doesn’t quite fit in, just move on. Kill those darlings.

When the youtube page reaches 100, I’ll post something concerning the sequel. So anyone who cares, share and spread the word.

Leave a Reply

