Game of Drinks: The toasts of toasts

Last night I went to Ruby Tuesday with Erin, her husband Jerry, and our friend Chuck to celebrate Erin and my book contract. I had the salmon florentine with cheddar mashed potatoes and broccoli. While the food was delightful, I find the square white plate craze sweeping restaurants to be troubling. Remember when plates were decorative and fancy and less utilitarian? I picture the Spartans eating off these plain white squares before doing battle.

Chuck gave a toast at Erin and Jerry’s wedding reception, so it was Jerry’s turn to say something eloquent. I will try to recall as best I can Jerry’s entire toast. I believe it was:

“To… book!”

Leave a Reply

